Worlds is almost upon us, and the teams that will be competing in the first round have been selected.  These groups were announced Monday morning during Riot’s Group Stage selection stream, where teams were drawn for both the Play-in and the larger tournament.

The Play-in stage will include four groups of three teams, these teams will have to compete against one another for the chance to advance from their group.  Once the teams have left their group, they’ll have the chance to play in a qualifier to enter the larger tournament.  Clutch Gaming, an American based team, owned by the Houston Rockets, will be starting off this stage.

Meanwhile, in the Worlds 2019 Group Stage, there will be four teams competing for a spot in the knockout round.  During the draw, only three of the teams from each group were selected, with the fourth being one of the qualifying teams from the Play-in Stage.

Group A is particularly formidable, consisting of Korea’s Griffin, Cloud9 from North America and Europe’s G2 Esports.  North America’s other automatically qualified team, Team Liquid, appear in the D Group with ahq eSports and Invictus Gaming.  Group B has China’s FunPlus Pheonix, GAM Marines of Vietnam, and J Team from Taiwan.  The final group, Group C, features two of Clutch Gaming’s top laner Huni’s former teams, SK telecom T1 and Fnatic, with the final group being Royal Never Give Up.

Worlds will be from October 2 through November 10.




Group A — Clutch Gaming, Unicorns of Love, Mammoth

Group B — Splyce, DetonatioN FocusMe, Isurus Gaming

Group C — Hong Kong Attitude, Lowkey Esports, Mega

Group D — Damwon Gaming, Flamengo eSports, Royal Youth


Group A — Cloud9, G2 Esports, Griffin, TBD

Group B — FunPlus Phoenix, GAM Esports, J Team, TBD

Group C — Fnatic, Royal Never Give Up, SK telecom T1, TBD

Group D — Team Liquid, ahq e-Sports Club, Invinctus Gaming, TBD


Photo Credit Riot Games

For more information about this year’s World teams, check out this article by Austen Goslin from Rift Herald